Thread: Intake resister mod?

VT GEN3 is offline Permanently Banned Last Online: 19-12-2007 @ 10:02 AM

Intake resister mod?

Hi all,

I have a VT2 SS 6spd. I have the usual bag of tricks, edit, extractors/exhaust, OTRCAI, 3.9diff gears, ported throttle body. 234rwkw

Someone told me about an el-cheapo mod for modifying intake temp sensor by adding a resister to trick the computer to throw in a little more fuel/timing etc. Apparently its like $10 worth of stuff.

Does this mod work, will it cause harm? Does anyone know how to do it. Im not really technically minded, so could someone explain how to do it and what parts I need.

Your help much appreciated..

Beej is offline Forum Contributor Last Online: 11-08-2020 @ 01:02 PM

Re: Intake resister mod?

A complete waste of time - especially if you have had a proper custom tune done already. All this mod would do add the risk of blowing up your engine.

One the whole points of a proper tune is to set your engine up to it will produce the maximum hp/torque at all times under all conditions - consistently. Don't muck with it now it is set up right!

Cheers,

Beej

Ok, (im slapping my hands) leave it alone!!!

what about on a stock car? like for an example a VS commodore 3.8litre?

would it risk blowing up the motor here as well?

Shmacky is offline Forum Contributor Last Online: 23-08-2011 @ 04:54 PM

Quote Originally Posted by VT GEN3 View Post
    adding a resister to trick the computer to throw in a little more fuel/timing etc.
    I think any form of 'tricking' the computer to think it's doing something when it's not is going to be bad. Maybe not in the short term, but eventually.

Why not trick the computer to think its doing 2000rpm when the needle's at 6500rpm - that way you can rev all the way to a theoretical 10500rpm and get more power? I'll let you test that one for me

Getting back on track, any gain if slightly is hugely outweighed by the risk of destroying the engine.

Shmacky.